Perfection

From the time kids are born, our brothers and sisters are our collaborators and co-conspirators, our role models and cautionary tales. They are our scolds, protectors, goads, tormentors, playmates, counselors, sources of envy, objects of pride. They teach us how to resolve conflicts and how not to; how to conduct friendships and when to walk away from them. Sisters teach brothers about the mysteries of girls; brothers teach sisters about the puzzle of boys.

The mystery that puzzles me is the eternal bond between a brother and his sister. The protection and love that the brother has in side him without ever being taught. No matter if the brother is younger or older.

The story I’m going to tell you about is my youngest son and my youngest daughter. When I found out I was pregnant with my son being that he would be the baby of 4 girls I never guessed he would be a boy.

When I found out, I was ecstatic! Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would have a boy ( though I wanted one). I came to peace with my girls. I was happy and content knowing that I might some day have grandsons. God blessed me with this perfect small little bundle. Something I’ve dreamed about for my kids is this bond that my two little ones have. God has crafted into pure perfection.

In the time he’s been here I could not be prouder of the bond between my youngest little ones. It is just pure perfection at least through a mother’s eyes.

I never had a brother. I grew up with 3 sisters, so when my son started getting older and they became best friends I was amazed. What makes the difference I’ve always wondered, between the girls as sisters and girls with their brothers.

He’s protective, loving, caring and even though he is little, he takes such good care of his sisters. I know that a bond between mother and son is different than the bond between a mother and her daughters. A mothers love is for all her kids, just the bond is different. I wonder if that’s the way it is in the case of brothers and sisters. It’s a mystery to me, but one I’m going to cherish as I continue to learn about.

2015/01/img_7955.jpg

Leave a Reply

