Mommy am I beautiful

As a mother of 4 girls, I have come to see that each of them go through a season when they will not wear anything if it does not twirl, and if it sparkles, so much the better. Hours and hours of endless play, results from giving a little box with hats, scarves, necklaces, and clothes.
Once dressed, they will dance around the house or pose in front of the mirror. Their hearts wanting you to tell them they are beautiful. Sometimes they will look at you and ask with their eyes. Verbal or not they only want to hear that they are beautiful.

One of the things I’m learning as a mother of daughters is, how I must watch what I say. It’s so easy to be hard on myself, meaning that I unconsciously catch myself putting myself down and sloughing off positive comments. I thought that it was usually inside my head that I did most of my criticizing, and not something that my daughters would pick up on, but I think I was wrong. They see and hear the what and how I act. They mimic every word, every action they see me do.

The words that come out of your mouth don’t only affect you because of the lack of love you have for yourself. Your kids see that and start questioning there own worth and beauty.
The one desire I have for all 4 of my girls, is to learn to be healthy and love their body’s. I know from personal experience, that must be something they learn from their moms as they get older.

I remember when I was little, people would make fun of the way I dressed, the fact that I had to wear glasses and just my overall personality (I had a geeky personality). I look back and I’m proud of who God made me. It took years for me to believe in myself. It’s something that I’m still learning to do.

God made us in his image and if we think about all the beauty that God made, its near impossible to think that he would make us any different. The definition of beauty is:
having beauty; possessing qualities that give great pleasure or satisfaction to see, hear, think about, etc.; delighting the senses or mind

That’s what God made us, perfect in his eyes. We must see and believe that so our daughters will follow our examples.

2015/01/img_7864.jpg

2 thoughts on “Mommy am I beautiful”

Leave a Reply

