The fearless mother

You know that feeling when you walk into a room and your kids are everywhere? Screaming, fighting, wanting you to fix what ever problem they are having at that moment and you think to yourself, why oh why me lord.

Those moments we forget why we had kids because life and things get in the way. We get so stressed that the only thing we see is what’s going on now.

That’s the question most parents ask themselves the Big Why Lord! Ok, I’m going to get serious for a moment and tell you why I wanted kids. At the time I would have never guessed I would have had 5 but back to my story.

My husband and I had no clue that we were going to have my oldest daughter so early on in our marriage, but I remember when I first found out I was pregnant with her. My heart was so full. This miracle was growing inside me:). After she was born she became the center of my world and I could not imagine life without her, so of course I could not let her be alone and so goes the story. I could tell you story after story of all the wonderful memories I have of every single one of them. The older they get the more I have to sit and remember those times so I remember why my hair is turning gray.

As mothers we get scared of all the bad that might come our kids way, so we feel we have to fix it and make it better. The one thing I’m learning as my kids get older is, my job is not always to fix it, and I was always afraid that, that’s what I had to do. As the years go by, I’m realizing that there is a time to fix, then there is a time to sit back and just listen. We need to let them figure life out as a individual, so they know they have the power to fix it for themselves.

Now the one thing that I can not figure out and to this day I do not understand is, why they have to pick on each other just to hear the other one scream, but as to life some things make since while others will have us guessing till the day we die, and I’m afraid that just might be one of them.

2015/01/img_7857.jpg

Leave a Reply

